Total novice.

If you are planning to buy a rental home, or you're thinking about what to do with one you have just acquired, this is the place for any questions about starting out in the rentals business.
pablito3

Total novice.

Post by pablito3 »

Hi all,
I have a house in Southern Spain that I built with the intention of selling. Given the current property situation I have decided to try my hand at holiday rentalsl. A few questions for you seasoned "experts".
Is it advisable to send prospective clients a booking form and have them sign terms and conditions? If so can anyone forward me a sample please?
Is a security deposit a good idea and if so how much?
My house has air conditioning, how can you stop clients abusing this? ie leaving it on with doors and windows open or when they go out?
What tips do you have for avoiding/filtering undesirable clients? I'm not a snob but when I fly to Spain (or anywhere else) I look at some of my fellow passengers and think that I would'nt want them in the same village, let alone, in my house.
Where do you reccomend I advertise my house?
Is a personal website a must?
The house has a pool and I'm thinking of buying a robotic pool cleaner any reccomendations?
Thanks for any tips or advice.
Pablito.
Paul Carmel

Post by Paul Carmel »

Hi, and welcome to LMH.

All of the questions you ask have been covered extensively on LMH, So you might want to do a search to start with on each subject.

Good luck you have hours of reading in front of you!
Cheers
PC
Jacqueline

Post by Jacqueline »

Pablito
I hope this helps.I do not have a personal website i advertise with holiday lettings and for 4 years i have been booked all summer and more.
I do not have air con but there is no way of stopping guests abusing it.I do not know of a way of vetting guests, this year we discovered that for a week in June we had naturists staying at our villa i was really shocked as we do not say we are secluded and our neighbours were not best pleased.