How to take payments from Germany?

How to communicate with your potential renters - how to turn site visitors into enquiries, and enquiries into bookings.
HopHead

How to take payments from Germany?

Post by HopHead »

Hello.

I'm fairly new to the letting business, and apologise if this question has been asked before. I have been letting out a cottage in Cornwall for the last year or so, since inheriting it. I have just received an enquiry from someone in Germany, my first one from abroad, and am wondering what is the best method of taking payment. All guests so far have been from the UK and have paid either by cheque or online, but I don't know if either of these are possible from Germany (e.g. do they still use cheques?). Thanks in advance for your help.

HopHead.
Marks

Post by Marks »

Bank transfer is one option. You will need to supply your IBAN (international bank account number) and SWIFT code. Your bank will be able to help, mine are printed on my paper statement.
Some guests just need a sympathetic pat. On the head. With a hammer.
Yorkshire Lass

Post by Yorkshire Lass »

Be aware with an international bank transfer that your guest will have the option to pay both his bank charges and your bank charges so you could suggest that if the payment is being made this way that he will opt to pay all charges (otherwise you will find a deduction is made by your bank for your charges and if you're very unlucky and the guest has put all charges on to you that you are also paying his charges).
We're all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars

www.kingshousescarborough.com
www.facebook.com/scarboroughholidaycottage
www.sandsendpavilion.co.uk
booboo

Post by booboo »

Pay-Pay may be cheapest method for you both.
Annew

Post by Annew »

Hi HopHead & Welcome!

I have quite a lot of German and Dutch Guests (they do like the westcountry!).