Setting up a chambre d'hotes in Dordogne

For topics that are specific to France, please go here.
mat24

Setting up a chambre d'hotes in Dordogne

Post by mat24 »

Hello everyone

I stumbled across this website and it seems like a great fountain of knowledge. My wife and I are looking to use our house as a chambre d'hotes in the near future. It would be great to meet, talk with and pick the brains of other owners.

I used to work in the same field in New Zealand and found it a mutually beneficial experience keeping in touch with other owners / businesses to keep guests happy, point them in right direction etc. If our rooms are full, recommend another place or vice versa.

We are looking forward to chatting with and hopefully getting to know other owners in France. We are always ready to listen to any advice. Thanks for your time.
Dusty

Post by Dusty »

Hi Mat24, I see that noone has responded yet so I thought I would let you know that you're not being ignored. We are in the Dordogne but run two gites and not a chambre d'hote, but we would be more than happy to pass on whatever information we can to help you in your decision making.
If you have any specific questions then it may be best to ask on here as you will get good help but if its a general chat you want its probably best to send me a personal message and we can arrange something
All the best
Villarais

Post by Villarais »

I have a house and a gite a bit further North than you, but I only do weekly lets (sometimes shorter or longer) so, like Dusty, have no knowledge of the specifics of chambres d'hotes, except that I sometimes stay in them. Do ask any questions though. I am sure that a lot of the paperwork and dealing with guests is the same.
mat24

Post by mat24 »