Discounting to fill up those vacant weeks

Up, down, could be better? How to get more bookings is our number one obsession. Talk shop here.
ginelli

Discounting to fill up those vacant weeks

Post by ginelli »

Hi everyone! Long time no talk.

Well, I feel quite satisfied by the response to my first real year of renting out my France and Turkey properties. I've had over 10 weeks for both of them.

There are, however, still 3 or 4 peak spots left for my France property at £600 per week. The odd (and it is odd) enquiry I'm getting for these periods goes something like this, "What is the best price you can do for this week?"

So far I've been responding "Sorry, it's my first year of renting out and I've deliberately kept the prices low". However, I am starting to wonder whether I should start knocking off a bit if I want to fill up these slots.

What's your advice on this? How much would you knock off?

Thanks
De l'audace, encore de l'audace, et toujours de l'audace (George-Jacques Danton)

www.hide-aways.com
fibi

Post by fibi »

I would knock off £100 - quite a lot I know but £500 for you is better than £0 - £100 is a decent amount and will make the guest feel they are getting a bargain. Or you could try £50 and a basket of local goodies.

Having seen your websites I wish we could go...
I find television very educational. Every time someone switches it on I go into another room and read a good book.
ashtondav

Post by ashtondav »

If you are talking august and its now nearly July, I would slash prices. I would go down to £400 and poss £300. You are now in "last minute bookers" territory and these buyers know they can screw down prices. Also, using your holidaying experience, did you leave it until 4 weeks before the date? Almost certainly no and definitely no if with kids and tied to school hols.