Balance Payment

If you are planning to buy a rental home, or you're thinking about what to do with one you have just acquired, this is the place for any questions about starting out in the rentals business.
lollybeth

Balance Payment

Post by lollybeth »

Hi

Can you help please? I'm new to this and confused!

I have just had a booking withdrawn as I am asking for the balance payment 6 weeks before departure. They think that I am trying to "swindle them" and say that no one else is asking for this. They also wanted to pay 1/2 in advance with no mention of when they were going to pay the balance.

I've got other guests that are perfectly happy with this.

Is 6 weeks reasonable?

Thanks for your help

Liz
la vache!

Post by la vache! »

What nationality are they, Lollybeth? It could be relevant. But nevertheless, they should have been aware of your terms and conditions at the time of booking, so I can't see why they are complaining.
My terms are 6 weeks, I think most people ask for the balance 8 weeks before. My French guests pay the balance on arrival though...that is what they are use to and as I'm on site I can accommodate this easily.
Last edited by la vache! on Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Rocket Rab

Re: Balance Payment

Post by Rocket Rab »

lollybeth wrote: Is 6 weeks reasonable?
More than reasonable, I'd have thought. We ask for the balance 8 weeks before arrival.

And your terms are clearly set out on your website. Looks like you're doing everything right, LB. How much do you really want the booking? You might just be doing yourself a favour if you let them walk away....

Speaking as a Rab who has, on more than one occasion, regretted allowing punters to twist her ears the wrong way, you might want to issue a polite but firm invite to meet your payment deadline.

Or else. :roll:
vrooje

Post by vrooje »

We ask for payment six weeks in advance; it used to be 8 weeks. Both are perfectly acceptable in the field of holiday rentals.