Spanish guests

For topics that are specific to Spain, please go here.
sue c

Spanish guests

Post by sue c »

Bit of an embarassing topic, this one. I was warned by someone who lets a property via Spanish agents not to let to Spanish guests as many 'removable' items might be removed. I find it hard to believe that this would be the case, but looking at some Spanish-owned holiday homes I did notice that they were rather sparsely equipped. As I assume most Spanish visitors would be driving, do they expect to bring their own tea-towels, coffee-makers, etc?

Does anyone have experience of what Spanish guests would expect? Hopefully, nobody has any horror stories and I can happily market to Spain. I have no experience of this as all my advertising is via UK web-sites and publications.
debk

Post by debk »

I think it might depend on your target market (eg, your rates). Maybe you could charge a bigger damage deposit, if you are concerned about this? I'd keep asking though to find out if this was just one person's (baseless) horror story.

On a somewhat related note, I recently had my first Portuguese renter. She lives right here in Lisbon but was having some extended family visit from Indonesia and South Africa. Rather than have them book a hotel, she stayed with them at our three-bedroom property. It was actually great fun to have a local here... the tourists love the location but the locals are the ones who really understand the value of where we are. Plus, she was the first (and no doubt only) guest to recognize the famous (within Portugal) actor who lives across the street. Funny.

Good luck with your bookings!
oskar

Post by oskar »

You should find Spanish guests no different from any other nationality.

Just 2 points though...........

They tend to smoke a lot more, and.........

they´re less inclined to pay the going rate! :wink:
sue c

Post by sue c »

Deb and Oskar